FAA Chooses 5 U.S. Airports for C-UAS System Testing

Aviationtoday.com reported that the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) has selected five airports to test unmanned aircraft system (UAS) detection and mitigation systems that will create future standards for countering UAS (C-UAS) use at airports, the agency announced in a March 1 press release. These include:

Atlantic City International Airport
Huntsville International Airport
Rickenbacker International Airport
Seattle-Tacoma International Airport, and
Syracuse Hancock International Airport

The FAA will test 10 or more systems through 2023.  A contract opportunity from May 2020 requests whitepapers for technology that can detect UAS within a five-mile radius from the air operations area and technology that offer mitigation capability for UAS. The technology may use C-UAS systems but could also use alternate technology.